Skip to content

My Hands on with the Nintendo Switch

2017-02-17

Recently I have just came back from an awesome trip to Washington DC. Why was I there? Well Nintendo sent me an invitation to try the Nintendo Switch, Washington DC was Nintendo’s second stop of their Nintendo Switch Preview Tour. I had such an awesome time trying the new console, playing some of the games that will be either launching or coming soon for it post launch and of course trying out the Switch Pro controller. Much like you read, seen and heard I will be giving my first impressions about the console. Let’s Get into it shall we.

With only two weeks away with the much-anticipated launch of Nintendo’s newest family member, I will say this console is really light, comfortable and a delight to play. Compared against the big WiiU gamepad, the Nintendo Switch overall with the Joy-Cons attached, is still significantly lighter than the WiiU gamepad. Which will come as a plan if many of you plan on traveling in coming months (like myself) and plan to play with it in handheld mode. The Joy-Cons themselves are also light as well, even though they are small, they are really comfortable to hold in your hands. Holding one also seems very right, when you hold a Joy-Con in your hands, hold it sideways, it will feel as if your holding the classic Nintendo Entertainment System controller. But, with the Joy-Cons rounded edges for easier comfort then its older family member, less strain on your hands while holding it, the Joy-Cons have an awesome feeling and oh so satisfying to hold. The transition going from the Dock, to the Switch’s 6.2 inch screen is instantaneous. Which with the hybrid feel is amazing, TV to screen happens in just about a second. So when you go out and about and ready to take your Switch, you won’t have to wait a long time. The Joy-Con grip is actually quite comfortable to hold also, the grip will be included with your Switch purchase as another option to play. Basically, you take your Joy-Cons and attach it to a controller style grip that will hold them, in case you don’t want to play with just the Joy-Cons in your hands and want to play it more traditionally. Speaking of controllers, believe it or not one of the first Switch accessories I used was the new Switch Pro controller. I must say Nintendo has done a fantastic job with that controller. It feels awesome, it feels as awesome as either a XboxOne controller or PlayStation 4 controller in your hands. You will get a satisfaction holding and instance of where the buttons will be placed. Again Nintendo did great designing that controller. I love it, I will be getting it on launch as well.

One of the first games I have played was Fast RMX, I have played Fast Racing Neo on the WiiU which when you play this game yourself will be basically a definitive edition of the original. The game offers a super fast paced racing which getting boosting power is the key to winning or evening as passing an opponent. If you haven’t already I highly suggest you checking out Fast Racing Neo on the WiiU. Fast RMX will available in March 2017.

Next game I played, Splatoon 2 I seriously can not wait for this one to come out. Plays very much like the first game, same objective with Turf War where one team tries to cover as much turf as you can to win. I got to use the Splat Duolies, those are my favorite weapons in Splatoon 2. They don’t have much range, or coverage, but, what I do like is its fast firing rate. Because it offers a fast firing rate, going to covering to fighting back is quick. Also the little jump to the side to evade fire will come in handy in sticky situations or perfect for setting up flanking positions. Splatoon 2 will be available later this summer.

Mario Kart 8 is one my favorite WiiU titles during its life cycle, so it will come no surprise that even on the Switch, it was one of my favorite games there. I got to play it on the stage in the bus prop as if I was on a bus trip playing. Playing Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is very much the same as Mario Kart 8, but with a few, much-needed updates. For example the revamped battle mode pinning players in much more traditional area style track rather than using an actual track from the Grand Prix. The game feels smoother as well when you’re drifting corners, getting a speed drag from behind another racer, and other minor touch ups which is a nice addition to Mario Kart 8 Deluxe. Mario Kart 8 Deluxe will be out on April 28th of this year.

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild, I really wish that I could’ve got an hour session instead of only 20 minutes. 20 minutes was not enough time playing this gorgeous game. After you watch the opening intro, open chests to get some cloths on for Link, climb a small wall, exit the little temple, you are greeted to the massive world of the Great Plateau. The establishment shoot is just awesome and will get you ready to just explore the vast world of Breath of the Wild. The demo I played I believe was shown during E3 2016. But, I didn’t get a chance to get to actually solve one of the first trails because I ran out of time. But, the experience was just amazing like seeing and experiencing this game after waiting so long for it, was very satisfying to me. The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild will be launching alongside with the Nintendo Switch March 3rd.

1,2 Switch, to me I believe will be the killer app to fully take advantage of the Joy-Cons HD Rumble feature and IR sensor features. I played the milking mini-game, it was a lot of fun and I did get to play it with a friend of mine who came with me. I also got to play guessing game. Basically you shake the Joy-Cons to guess how many balls are in a box (1-9 I believe). I won my guess of two because with the HD rumble I literally felt only two balls roll around the Joy-Cons. It truly was an awesome experience. I will get this game later for me. 1,2 Switch will also launch alongside with Nintendo Switch March 3rd.

Has Been Heroes is a title that I have been closely watching, and have been very curious of. I like the game, it has a learning curve to it, but, basically you take control of three different heroes, a Rogue, a Knight and a Wizard. You use their abilities to defeat monsters in your path by doing various strategies. Before you can actually do any kind of damage you have to take down their stamina first. Each hero will do a certain amount of damage to get rid of enemy stamina. Once you have done that, you can switch to a different hero to do actual damage to that same monster. You can also use magic abilities to do area of effect damage as well. Looking forward to this game, it will be coming later in March 2017.

Last game I played was Disgaea 5, I have never played Disgaea before and I always wanted to play it. It is basically like crazy over the top version of Fire Emblem. You have a small army of different characters to defeat demons on the field. I like the style and concept of this game and I will be picking this up on May 26th 2017. Other games I saw and got more understanding, but, sadly didn’t get a chance to play was ARMS. I love the concept of the game and how the controls work also. A buddy of mine got to play it on stage and go against somebody 1 on 1. He loved the game and is looking forward to getting it himself. Snipperclips was another I wanted to play so bad, it’s a cute puzzle game where you cut yourself to different shapes and sizes to solve various puzzles. And of course you play with another player for double the fun.

So that was my experience trip to Washington DC to get my early hands on with the Nintendo Switch. Nintendo has really built something amazing here, and I do hope this time around those 80 third-party developers that partnered with Nintendo can fully take advantages of the system’s hardware and features. It to me is a promising system. The HD rumble feature is one of my favorite features at times it can bring some intensity during gameplay to immerse the player in the game. Not as hardcore like the XboxOne controller but, close enough to me. Two weeks can’t get here fast enough. Look out for an unboxing video for the Nintendo Switch from me soon after. Thank you for reading, follow my social media, Instagram, Twitter and Tumblr all with handle of @NintendoMikeC. I’ll see you in the next one.

From → Nintendo, Switch

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

