Skip to content

Fire Emblem Direct – Recap/Post thoughts

2017-01-18

Nintendo just got done with their first Nintendo Direct of 2017 (expect more to come) and it was great. The focus game was the Fire Emblem Franchise. Just last year they release only one Fire Emblem game, Fire Emblem Fates. Today they announced not one, not two, but, four brand new Fire Emblem games, three of which will be coming this year. They are:

  • Fire Emblem Echos Shadows of Valentina (Nintendo 3DS)
  • Fire Emblem Warriors (Nintendo Switch & New Nintendo 3DS family)
  • Fire Emblem game (For Switch in 2018)
  • Fire Emblem Hero’s (Android OS & iOS)

That’s right folks FOUR brand new Fire Emblem games between now and 2018. Wow, that was really a lot for me to take in. I am a huge fan of the series and it is awesome that it is finally getting the love that its has been looking for. Lets do a quick breakdown of each game.

First game they showed was Fire Emblem Echos Shadows of Valentina, a remake game called Fire Emblem Gaiden for the Famicom system in Japan. The game will feature two protagonist characters named Alm and Celica, who join many others to stop a major in their country of Valentia. This game was the reason why Fire Emblem got big in Japan. The gameplay style is the same as traditional Fire Emblem games, but, with a twist. For instance, there is a free roaming aspect of the game, where the player can now freely move in between dungeons to look for treasures of any kind, battle creatures such as monsters, humans, animals and many more. It will have the same progression system like previous games from before. This game will available this year on May 19th, 2017 along with that their will be two brand new amiibos of the protagonist characters Alm and Celica and will be released as a two-pack same day as well. Retail prices have not been announced but, stay tuned for a $39.99 price tag for the game and $24.99 for the amiibos as a two-pack.

Next up they announced a brand new Fire Emblem game that will come to the Nintendo Switch in 2018. There was no sub-name or trailer just an announcement, and a planned 2018 release. This will be Fire Emblem’s first appearance on a Nintendo home console since 2008 Fire Emblem Radiant Dawn for the Nintendo Wii system. Looking forward to hearing more about this game.

Next that was shown in the direct was Fire Emblem Warriors, the trailer that was shown was an extended trailer from last week’s Switch Presentation in Japan. This is another cross develop of Koei Tecmo game and Nintendo and now Intelligent Systems as well. They previously worked on the well received Hyrule Warriors. It will be releasing on the Nintendo Switch and New Nintendo 3DS family consoles this Fall 2017. We can probably expect more details hopefully this E3 as well.

Lastly to close out their Direct, Nintendo showed their newest mobile game entry. One of three mobile games coming in 2017, Fire Emblem Hero’s. This will be a brand new original Fire Emblem game for Mobile (Android OS, iOS) where you play as new characters from the Kingdom of Askran to stop the Embilian Empire to stop a war from happening. In this game you will take the role as a summer and you can call upon Hero’s from past Fire Emblem spanning from all games from both released in Japan and worldwide such as Ike, Roy, Marth, Lyn, Eirika, and many more and bring them to your army or fight against them battles. You can level up your characters the same as from any Fire Emblem game before. Some new elements include leveling and learning new Skills as well along the way. To summon Hero’s by using orbs to collect, simply playing the game. Or like any mobile game micro-transactions, based on the video I think it starts at $1.99 for 3 orbs. When summoning you will be given five different colored orbs to represent who will you summon, red for sword, green for axes, blue for lances and gray for bows as examples. The summoning of heroes is completely random and the more you summon, the less it cost to summon another hero. This game will be available February 2nd on Google Play store and a later time for the Apple App store. Google users can pre-register for the game starting tomorrow January 19th. I didn’t see a price for the game, I believe it could be a free game but, wait for tomorrow for more details on that.

So after all that, I will say I am really happy with everything that was announced. Like I said again, I am really happy to see this series get its stardom and glad to see that this series isn’t going anywhere now (thank you Fire Emblem Awakening). I am mostly excited for… Fire Emblem Hero’s. Yes I know! Its even crazy to me that I am excited for a mobile game and typically I don’t like Mobile games personally. But, to me I think Nintendo is doing this franchise justice they always knew that they had a RPG that can have a beloved fan-base just as much Final Fantasy or Dragon Quest franchise. But, why am I looking forward to Hero’s, I honestly don’t know something about playing a tactical RPG on the go with my phone, its just a great complaint to my Fire Emblem Fates game on my 3DS (which I am very still much playing currently). Plus I think this is something that RPG fans have been asking for a mobile RPG game. Really can’t wait for it. I also can’t wait to play Fire Emblem Gaiden also. Through the years I have come to know Fire Emblem, Gaiden was a game that I heard was super huge in Japan and lifted the franchise off to its spotlight today. I have seen gameplay footage of its traditional, in yet with a twist gameplay. Now I can finally play for myself this May. Hyrule Warriors was one of my top favorite if, not my top five favorite Wii U games ever. The fact Fire Emblem is getting this treatment is super exciting to me. There is a lot and I mean a lot of characters that can make an appearance and be playable in this game. Knowing that, I know Koei Tecmo is probably thinking to themselves “who can have as playable characters in this game?” Well, I hope they choose wisely but, I can predict, Corrion, Ike, Chrom, Marth are like obvious front-runners of the game. But, I hope characters like Lyn, Lon’Qu, Naavare, and Eirkia will be in there as well. We’ll find out at E3 2017 shall we? And lastly to talk, the new Fire Emblem game for the Switch. This can be ANYTHING and I mean anything. A new story, a remake, I don’t know, I am excited to learn in the future for that particular game.

So, what did you guys think? Did you enjoy it? Are you going to download the new mobile game? Please share in the comments below. Also if you enjoyed my post please SLASH that like button means a lot. Happy Gaming and remember be kind to one another. See You Guys!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

